Poland is a country located in Central Europe bounded to the north by the Baltic Sea and two mountain ranges in the south, the Sudetes and the Carpathians. Poland shares its borders with 7 countries: Germany to the west, the Czech Republic and Slovakia to the south, Ukraine and Belarus to the east, and Lithuania and the Kaliningrad Oblast (Russian territory) to the north.

Poland has approximately 38 523 000 inhabitants, which gives it the 8th place in the most populated countries in Europe. Poland covers a total area of 312 685 square kilometers, which makes it the 9th largest country in Europe.

The official language of Poland is Polish and the Złoty is the official currency. Złoty is subdivided into 100 groszy.

Poland is an unitary state. Warsaw is the largest city in Poland and the capital of the country. Other major cities are: Kraków, Łódź, Wrocław, Poznań, Gdańsk, Szczecin, Bydgoszcz, Lublin, Katowice, Białystok, Gdynia.

The territorial administrative structure of Poland is based on three levels of self-government. Poland is divided into:

  • I level – Voivodeships (similar to provinces),

  • II level – Powiats (similar to counties or districts),

  • III level – Gminas  (similar to communes or municipalities).

It should be noted that major cities have Powiat status. Currently (as of 01.01.2017) there are 16 Voivodeships, 380 Powiats (including 66 cities of Powiat status), and 2478 Gminas.

GMT + 2 (summer time), GMT + 1 (winter time: between the last Sunday in October and the last Saturday in March)

Poland has a moderate climate, in between marine and continental one. Six seasons of the year are distinguished in Poland: autumn, early winter, winter, early spring, spring and summer. The temperature in summer usually ranges from +20°C to +30°C, but may also reach +35°C. The temperature in winter ranges from -10°to 5°C. The warmest month is July and the coolest month is January.

(Credits: dsc.kprm.gov.pl)